Monday, June 09, 2008

Yer Mam!'s Guide To Essential Summer Listening Part II: Mixing it up.

Okay, let's get back into it. The sun is really out today, so here are three great summery mixes for you to pump out of your car stereos when the sun is blazing...

Friends of the blog and all-round top blokes, Canyons (aka Leo and Ryan from the Hole In The Sky label) are used to sunshine and barbecues, I guess, being Aussies. Lazy geographical stereotyping aside, they've put together a terrifically sunkissed mix exclusively for you guys. Readers of Yer Mam! rejoice as it's a doozy. Don't forget to pick yourself up a copy of their recent 12", The Lovemore EP, on vinyl at Juno or, if you prefer mp3s, get the digital release at

Canyons Mix (click through to download)

1. Aqua Bassino - Too Hard to Try and Find (F Communication)
2. Her Bad Habit - Lock me up (Citinite)
3. Arthur Russell - Pocketknife's continual Cornfield remix (Flagrant Fowl)
4. Late of the Pier - The Bears are Coming - The Emperor Machine remix (Vote)
5. 40 Thieves - Theme from nutrider (Permanent Vacation)
6. Escort - Karawane (Escort Records)
7. The Juan Maclean - Happy House (DFA)
8. Virgo - Free Yourself - (Eskimo)
9. E.V.I.A.N and the Atlantis Posse - Robo Tech (Techno Kut Records)
10. Lone Ranger Dub - Bingo mix (Kaos)
11. Syclops - Monkeypuss (DFA)
12. Tyree - I'm Free (Clone)
13. Martyn - Velvet (3024)
14. Luis Gasca - Spanish Gypsy (Universal)
15. Kathy Diamond - Over (Permanent Vacation)
16. Tame Impala - Half Full Glass of Wine - Canyons Drunken Rage Mix (Hole in the Sky)
17. The Emperor Machine - Slap On (DC Recordings)
18. Hercules and Love Affair - This is my love (DFA)
19. Only Fools and Horses - Spectacle Wins - Holy Ghost! remix (Permanent Vacation)
20. Jimi Hendrix - Little Wing (Reprise)

Two more mixes to clue you in on now from a couple other friends of Yer Mam! First up, Peter Jay, who did an exclusive mix for this blog a couple of months ago, has a new mix over at the Nish Nash Nosh podcast. Here's the tracklisting, which should be all the convincing you need to go over there and get downloading...

1. Prince - Musicology
2. Pure P - Fonky President
3. Busta Rhymes - Touch It (pee wee's incorrect funk mix)
4. The Rebirth - Shake It (j-boogie remix)
5. Tangoterje - I Get Lifted
6. Kraak & Smaack feat Ben Westbeech- Squeeze Me
6. Alessi Brothers - Savin' The Day (the revenge rework)
7. Jermaine Jackson - Lets Get Serious
8. Gwen Guthrie - Peanut Butter (u-tern edit)
9. Popular Peoples Front - Bits 'N' Pieces
10. Neighbour - Robo Dick
11. Parov Stelar - The Flame
12. Wolf Myer Orchestra & Parov Stelar - Next To Me
13. Hydroponic Sound System - El Narco
14. Greenwood Rhythm Coalition - Guajira '78
15. Alex Wilson - Ain't Nobody

Finally, Freddy Flaggermus has cooked up another winner in the form of the 'Summer Whoreoff Volume II' mix he has up for download over at twentyfourhours. Go git it! Any mix that has The Bangles and Grace Jones is a blinder in my book.

Back real soon,


Labels: , , ,


Blogger jonthebeef said...

That Canyons mix is good.

9:02 pm  

Post a Comment

<< Home